Introductions – The Wife

Jeanette (Nessie) Richards

That’s me folks! Jane of all trades, mistress of none!

I tend to the accounts, social networking I tweet as @nimuesnestgifts & update The Nest @ John Richards Facebook Page, overseeing the giftware website, writing blogs, general ideas person, head cook & bottle-washer!

I got involved in the family business when I moved to Shropshire in 2006 and set up an eBay shop for the Land Rover side of things.  After the opportunity arose to buy a large amount of giftware, it seemed to automatically become my domain in the business (I knew more about pretty things than Land Rovers).  And so, here I am 6 years on, overseeing our Gift & Home specific site, always looking for new ways to promote the business.  My interests are varied.  I love cooking and I tend to get a little experimental at times.  I love animals especially dogs and in particular Border Collies.  I am a technology junkie both in the kitchen & the office and have been called ‘gadget woman’ quite often. I love playing with pictures and enjoy nothing more than putting together new advertising & marketing leaflets for the company.  I’ve recently started playing around with video too.  I love to write (usually poetry) but have found a new interest in blogging which is apparently good for the business , luckily!

In a previous life, back in the smoke of the big city, I have had various jobs over the years as well as bringing up 3 children from my previous 2 marriages (yes, Mr Richards is 3rd time lucky!)

I have worked in shipping & forwarding, became a concert promoter, had a few photo’s published along with articles for various music magazines, trained & qualified as a Genealogist & Social Historian and finally, I was a team leader, in the debt collection section of the finance department in my local council!

I gained many skills over those varied jobs, from mixing desks to spreadsheets and have managed to use a lot of them in my position in the family business (not the mixing desk – yet!).

I will now be chief blogger but we will also have some guest bloggers now & then.

I’ll try to keep the subject matter of our blog interesting and not too heavy.  As far as I’m concerned, this blog is to entertain & inform and hope you all enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

